Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Adventures in speaking Thai

I’ve been trying very hard on this trip to learn some thai and use it as much as possible because…  a) it is fun, b) it is useful, c) it leads to more interesting interactions with locals, and d) i am not one of those stereotypical american tourists that travels the earth and expects the whole world to know english darnit!  (just a little joke there…)

In my thai speaking attemps (often using the lonely planet thai phrasebook) i’ve had the repeated experience of having people laugh at me.  Not just giggle or chuckle but crack up laughing, tell friends and then laugh again with them, look at me again and laugh some more.  At first I thought it was because hardly any tourists make the attempt to learn some thai so it is amusing to hear a foreign accent.  I’m sure that’s part of it, however, in the last couple days I’ve learned some mistakes I’ve been making that no one has bothered to correct this whole time I’ve been here up until now.

In restaurants, I’ve been ordering, everyday, a “RICE BOWL OF COFFEE” (instead of a cup of coffee).  To everyone, the waiter at the restaurant, the bus driver, the person working at the guesthouse, I say what I thought was “See you later” but I was really saying “SEE YOU IN A MINUTE”.  No wonder they laugh!  I must sounds like a freaking lunatic! 

So today I signed up for some Thai language classes.

February 15, 2007 - Posted by | Travel

1 Comment »

  1. The thing that cracked me up so much about the ‘see you in a minute’ mistake is that we would often say that right as we were leaving a guest house and all the Thai knew they would never see us again. I was so proud of my Dio Pop gun Mi. Now I can just shorten it to Pop gun Mi.

    Comment by Greg Martinez | February 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

