Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

The PS2, 25 cents an hour, and Capitalism

I think that everyone knows my feelings about Sony (did I hear someone yell ‘liars’?) and the Playstation game consoles but…

We are at an Internet cafe in Bagan (there are very few of these in Myanmar).

The people here started a business a year ago with one PS2 and a copy of Winning Eleven. They charged locals about 25 cents an hour to play. The entire extended family had to pool their money to purchase the PS2. Now they have built that one PS2 into six PS2 units and this small internet cafe. Amazing. I am sure this makes them one of the richest families in the area.

I asked the guy if he liked Winning Eleven and he said he is horrible at it and, instead, likes Guitar Hero (even though they don’t have guitar accessories). As celebration of their one year anniversary they had a Winning Eleven tournament with first prize being 50,000 Kyat–that’s $45. Wow.

April 17, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I’m finally caught up from around the 20th of March…looks like you guys are really having a great time, I’m jealous.

    Comment by Rob | April 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. Howdy Greg and Francie! Just got the package today for Ethan and Isaac. They were sooooo excited! The watches are great and yes there was a battle over the helicopter. Thanks for leaving the note that Ethan had first pick, that helped. FYI the asians (orientals) are sooooo much smaller than us. The hat might fit a newborn baby. None the less we like it. Thank you for thinking of them. Your pictures are beautiful, thanks for sharing. Miss ya’ll. Oh btw we have a new addition to our family. A Congo African Grey parrot named Rocky (Rock the good Ag). He is so beautiful and smart I can’t wait for ya’ll to meet him.

    Comment by smiley | April 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. While I get caught up on the latest from your trip, I am curious…

    A) “Dinner last night: Vegetable curry, chicken masala, dahl, rice, & chapatis”

    B) Fried insects

    Which is better?

    At the very least “B” aligns more with the Adkins diet. You guys ruined it with “A” …all those carbs in rice etc! 🙂

    Comment by Joe | April 20, 2007 | Reply

  4. That cracks me up the hat is so small. I thought it would fit him and that would make up for who got the helicopter watch. Oh well. I will be ‘awesome’ uncle greg to one and ‘wretched’ uncle greg to the other.

    Comment by Greg Martinez | April 21, 2007 | Reply

  5. It was oh so close Joe, but after much deliberation I’ll have to choose the masala, curry, dahl, and chapatis over the fried bugs. Instead of the atkins diet we are on the “we are tired of curry and fried rice but they don’t have anything else at the restaurant” diet. Which is fine with me… as long as we don’t go on the “I have a tape worm” diet or the “I have ghiarddea” diet I’ll be happy. 🙂

    Comment by francie | April 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

