Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Welcome to the Sick House

Wondering why Greg and I haven’t posted for 2 days? It’s cause we haven’t left our room for 2 days! Well, not entirely accurate, Greg bravely left a few times to find food and drink. I tried to leave yesterday but ending up running back because I was afraid of hurling in public.

How did we get to this point? About 5 days ago Greg came down with a cold, then 3 days later I came down with the same + food poisoning. You’re probably wondering what I ate that made me sick. It was a cup of HOT CHOCOLATE from a CAFE. I think it is funny that after almost 5 months of travel, after all the sketchy meals we’ve eaten & all the street food, that it is a little cup of hot cocoa that gets me. It just goes to show that no matter how careful you are about food & drink, you can’t always protect yourself.

The good news is that we both left the room this morning, Greg’s coughing has subsided, and I ate a whole salad and drank a whole glass of apple juice and I don’t think I’m going to barf! Yay!!! Life is good. After another couple days of rest hopefully our ‘travelling’ will recommence. That’s the happs from China. Whoever you are out there reading this, I hope you have a loverly day… & remember, any day that you don’t throw up is a good one…

May 22, 2007 - Posted by | China, Travel, Yunnan

4 Comments »

  1. Tracy says that Greg was dog-sick in Peru, too, but that he’s a tough guy and gets back online in no time. Francie, I hope nothing like what you went through ever happens again on your trip. Both of you, get well.

    Comment by Roxana | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Sorry to hear about your distress, but at least you are able to practice those marriage vows (“…in sickness and in health…”)
    Love, Dad

    Comment by John Z | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. It is amazing that you both have tolerated the food and water so well so long. I remember in Cairo I slipped and let them put ice in my drink at the hotel and I got so sick.
    Good you are better. Life goes on in China!!!!!

    Comment by Cynthia | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m impressed you made it 5 months without getting sick! Sorry to hear you finally did; hopefully it will be the only time. J and I have been thoroughly enjoying keeping up with your adventures. I just showed her the pics from the water festival in Burma! 🙂

    Comment by Jill | May 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

