Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

And now a note from the Chairman

Francie and I are much better now, except that I seem to have lost a tooth. Well, it is actually a crown from a tooth (if its not one thing its another). So, it looks like we may reorganize our trip a little so that we head straight to Hong Kong. I actually have the crown with me still so hopefully, my dentist says, someone can just recement that little sucker on there. It is all very, very ‘exciting’ and needs to be done right away—anyone know of a good, english speaking dentist in Hong Kong? Too bad it happened right after we left Bangkok.

We have also had a problem finding good Mandarin classes so we may camp out in Hong Kong and Macau and take some classes there (and get my tooth fixed).

But the show must go on!!! We were walking around the new LiJiang the other day and were reminded of the Chairman!

P1040749

Mao ZeDong, for all the little kids out there, is the most influential figure in more-recent Chinese history. One of the main people responsible for the Communist revolution and for the Cultural Revolution. Andy Warhol even loved him (did you know that Warhol had Mao wallpaper? ).

We picked up several of Mao’s ‘Little Red Books’ from the cultural revolution…of course I bought them in, one might say, a free market where I bargained the people down to about $2 a book. A little bit of communist history, coming home to the states. Don’t worry my friends, I have extras!

Mao's Little Red Book

May 23, 2007 - Posted by | China, Travel

1 Comment »

  1. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Greg and Fran-z I received the box today. I don’t know if the Marionettes were for the boys or not. Either way I have made claim to them. They are so gorgeous the are my new favorite possession and guarenteed a special display area in our home. Oh and you know I sold our pony, so these little guys can help fill that space in my heart. If you find cool art stuff let me know and i will get moola to ya. Luv ya enjoy the honeymoon.

    Comment by smiley | May 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

