Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

More HK delights

I agree with Greg that Hong Kong is Yummy.  In so many ways.  I love it here.  Of course, visiting a big city as a tourist is very different from living there, so who knows what I would think about it after 6 months in my 4 square meter apartment, walking long distances on sidewalks where you can’t go faster than 1km an hour, and not being able to grab a meal for less than $10 US…  but for now, my love affair is raging.

Some reasons why Hong Kong is totally rad:

  • The subway system kicks ass.
  • It is very very international.  People from all over the world live here.
  • One of the cheapest places to eat is at sushi restaurants. 🙂
  • Lots of coffee and tea shops.
  • Incredible shopping.
  • The interesting contrasts of the old and the new (also present in many other large asian cities).  For example, modern office and shopping buildings next to street markets.
  • Great city parks.
  • Lots of closeby places to run and hike (believe it or not).

Yesterday Greg and I went to check out the flower & bird market.  It was great, although as a Humane society type person I can’t say that I am in love with the bird breeders…  however, with how the potential buyers fawn over the birds, I think most of them probably end up well taken care of (I hope!)

I think these are African violets?  Anyways, they are beautiful!
P1040995

This adorable little guy is still getting his feathers in.
P1050025

I’m so glad I don’t have 15 brothers and sisters…
P1050040

 Everyone – go visit Hong Kong!

June 3, 2007 - Posted by | Hong Kong, Travel

3 Comments »

  1. I used to live in Hong Kong – was there in the mid-90s for about four years. Living there is even better than being a tourist, because you get to know the secret locations and places tourists don’t get to. Like any city, I guess.

    Comment by letters | June 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. Those flowers are orchids…
    I was in HK for a week in 1996. It was the first stop in my 4-month SE Asia tour and I didn’t get nearly as much out of it as you guys are. It just seemed overwhelming and expensive. I was jet-lagged. I do remember taking the Star ferry across to Kowloon (we were staying on the island) and the amazing Indian food. Have you had the Indian food yet!?

    Thanks for all the postcards from Burma!! I got a whole slew of them last week – i was getting one a day for a few days. Was nice!! (trying to be nice friend who gets music from HK in the mail – nudge, nudge, wink, wink)
    -susan

    Comment by jolifanta | June 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. Recently returned from a Far East cruise which started in HK, and took in China and Japan. We extended our trip to include three days in HK and agree wholeheartedly that HK is wonderful. It is lively, colourful and varied. Of all the amazing places we saw on our trip, HK is the place we’d put top of our list to go back to.

    Comment by Dennis Wright | June 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

