Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Trip Half-Way Point

Francie and I realized that, with our return home date of November 17th, we have just passed the half-way mark.

It is interesting because, for me, the longer we are away traveling–the less time seems to have actually gone by.  For instance, that month in Laos now feels like just a day or two of my life.   I guess that a few years after this trip is over I will look back on the year and remember it as a month or two off from work.  Bummer.   

Well, to celebrate I thought I would post and talk about a few of Francie’s new pictures (see Flickr on the right).  Here we go:

These kids are from outside of Kalaw, Myanmar.  They were very disappointed that the camera wasn’t a Polaroid.  It really is a beautiful picture.  We gave them some stickers and pencils in exchange for the picture…oh yeah, and a bouncing ball.

F1020001

This large pig and his friend scared the devil out of us when the big guy snorted at us toward the end of the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike. He was actually very excited because he was expecting his slop dinner–which sure enough a woman came out with, climbed into the stone pen, and fed him.
F1010025

This line of ponies passed us high up in Tiger Leaping Gorge.  I was immediately reminded of every time I read a fantasy book (e.g. Lord of the Rings) where a group of adventurers ride horses through a mountain pass (I know several of you are rolling your eyes and thinking ‘geek‘).

F1010005

Race horses busting out of the gate at Happy Valley in Hong Kong.

F1000024

The future of China looks bright according to Chairman Mao in Lijiang.

F1080007

Beautiful stone building and landscape near the Naxi guesthouse on the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike.  The Naxi are an ethnic group in Yunnan province (pronounced Na sha).

F1080024

Me and my new friend checking the bus schedule. 

F1010032

We took off running after this kid threatened us (He was demanding our milk money).  They grow up quick in China…

F1020028

The park at Black Dragon Pool in LiJiang.  Unfortunately, the black dragon was not available for pictures that day.

F1020032

Ok!  I have to quit procrastinating and get back to my Mandarin.

June 19, 2007 - Posted by | burma, China, Hong Kong, Myanmar, Travel, Wildlife, Yunnan

2 Comments »

  1. Your new friend must stay the course since it cannot run!
    I love this shot looks like Harvey?

    Comment by Cynthia | June 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. Greg, I love the shot of the pony’s on the mountain pass. It also reminds me of the same image from Fantasy Books. But in that shot where are all the adventures? Did their adventure end prematurely?

    Comment by JoJo | June 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

