Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

The Doppleganger of Hong Kong

Francie and I have noticed a very strange thing about Hong Kong.  All the shops…well, actually everywhere we go seem to use mirrors to make their establishment look bigger.  This has caught us off guard a number of times when we have walked into a store with lots of cool clothes only to find they have, in fact, just one rack.  I think I have bumped into the mirrors a couple of times as well.

 Here is an example of this establishment that appears to have a very long sushi bar!

P1050278

I was also relived to find that this bathroom had ample urinals–doh, its done with mirrors!  Funny thing about this picture…well, lets just say it took me a while to get this shot and the attendants were very curious as to what was going on.  Needless to say, Francie and I had already had a few drinks at the good ol Aqua Spirit before I was able to click click.

P1050280

The other crazy thing about the mirror situation is that you are always looking out of the corner of your eye to see if that is just an image of you in a mirror or whether it is your doppleganger.  The Doppleganger is ever present in ancient lore and recent literature.  I wonder if mine would be more like Joseph Conrad’s The Secret Sharer or more like the one in Army of Darkness.  I know he is out there…watching me…I know it.

June 21, 2007 - Posted by | Hong Kong

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

