Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

More Hot Panda Action at Wolong!

Pandas all day, every day. That is our new motto. We had another fun day at the Wolong Panda Research Center.  We were allowed to take pictures while feeding Lingling and spent some more time checking out the 1 year old Pandas and the 2 week old newborn (more on that soon).

And now, for the pictures!

I wanted to call this one “All I wanted was a Pepsi and she wouldn’t give it to me” but instead I thought it was more of a “I’m bored, what should I do?” kind of moment.

All I wanted was a Pepsi

“I know, I’ll climb this swing right now!”

Climbing the swing

Here is a picture of Francie, our keeper (I mean the Panda keeper who we report to not the keeper of greg and francie) Huang, and XiaoYi.

Francie, shifu Wong and shuo yi

Here I am feeding Lingling.  I want to point out that Lingling doesn’t live inside this area–he only comes inside here to be fed the biscuits and be weighed.  He has a large outdoor area that goes up the mountain about 80 meters.

Greg feeding Lingling

Here Francie is feeding Lingling.  We give him pieces of biscuits at different heights to make sure he exercises his legs.

Francie feeding Lingling

Here is a Keeper helping a one year old Panda climb a tree.  It is a little to big for him to get his arms around. 

Wolong Keeper helps 1 year old climb tree

The one year old Pandas really like to sleep on top of this huge stump. 

I love this stump so much

The one year old Pandas are a lot of fun to watch. Pure sweetness and light.  This group gets exercised well by the keepers but this group decided to take this girl down!

4 panda cubs take down keeper

Keeping it real, just hanging in the tree.

Keeping it real

My buddy’s got my back.

Buddy got my back

August 1, 2007 - Posted by | China, Panda, Pets, Travel, Wildlife, Wolong

3 Comments »

  1. wow.. never thought pandas would be THIS lovable! 🙂
    Love your pictures!!

    Comment by ellen | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. I really wanted to talk about how much I hate you, but the cuteness of the pandas is overriding it.

    This is so cool.

    Comment by paul | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. The Pandas really are something else. I have to say that feeding the bears biscuits in grey coverall suits reminds me of episodes of the tv show LOST.

    ps. 30 days till football season

    Comment by Jeff | August 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

