Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Greg plays with Panda cubs

Today was our last day at the Wolong Panda Research Center!  Francie and I need to get out of town before they close the road tomorrow (they are going to pave it). 

 To celebrate I decided to play with the one year old Pandas for five minutes.  It was actually a really amazing experience even after volunteering at Wolong for two weeks.  I can already sense the envy…

Here we go!!!

P1070636

Yes that is his ear I am tugging on…but he doesn’t seem to mind.

P1070634

Their coats are a little soft but also slightly coarse and they are heavy!

P1070629

P1070631

This one gives you a good look at the pad of a Panda cub.

P1070633

The look on my face, and Francie’s in the next post, is the look of sheer delight.

August 8, 2007 - Posted by | China, Panda, Travel, Wildlife, Wolong

8 Comments »

  1. Envy is right! What amazing photos! Thanks for sharing them.

    Comment by Kristal Kraft | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. Oh my god, that must be an amazing experience!

    nice pictures as well, you should print some of them out really big, and hang them onto the walls at home!

    Comment by Kai | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. The panda waving is now my desktop background at work.

    Comment by paul | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. >> Francie and I need to get out of town before they close the road tomorrow (they are going to pave it).

    Oh good, that means I won’t get my poor bones shaken and rattled when I go to Wolong early next month!

    Thanks for all the wonderful pictures, Greg and Francie. Have a safe trip to the next part of your amazing journey!

    Comment by Chet | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. OH SO CUTE! WILL ONE APPEAR IN THE MAIL?

    Comment by Cynthia | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  6. Wow, thats amazing! I almost can’t believe they let him actually hold them! I am envious…

    Sorry I havent checked up on you for a while, I miss you and hope your doing OK, I havent called you because im like Joe in the sence that i go through cell phones like gallons of milk…

    Send me a line, my contact stuff is on mydarkbook.com!

    Comment by Chris 2 Dope | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  7. Great Pictures

    Comment by Nothing to Write About | August 10, 2007 | Reply

  8. I went to the Chengdu and the Wolong panda center in February 2008. In Wolong, I stayed at the Panda Inn Hotel. It was very nice. Before I went there, I read your blog. Thank you for all your information and advice. It was very helpful. Please check my blog some time. You can see lots of Chengdu and Wolong pandas!
    I’m thinking about going there again soon!!

    Comment by ryoko123 | March 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

