Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Lhasa street vendors

There are all sorts of interesting things for sale in the alleyways of Lhasa (e.g. see the ‘Yak butter’ post). This spice vendor caught my eye today. I’m going to buy a little bit of each one (even though I don’t know what all of them are) and cook a big stew or something when I get back to Seattle! Some of the spices I did recognize were cumin seeds, star anise, saffron, and peppercorn.

P1080113

Here are some more common sales items; Yak cheeses. I’ve heard that it is hard as a rock till you suck on it for half an hour and then it tastes like “cheese flavored eraser”. MMMMM!

P1080114

August 27, 2007 - Posted by | China, Tibet, Travel

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

