Adventures in Asia

by Greg & Francie

Hey, we know that dude!

Francie and I were walking around in Luang Prabang and we ran into her friend Tom Thai from New York!  Francie and Tom worked together at TellMe and ran the New York Marathon in 2003.  Tom is on a 3 week vacation and is quickly touring through Cambodia, Laos, and Thailand.  Meet Tom:

Tom

We all went out to dinner where we had Lemongrass Prawns, Mekong Catfish, Fried Squid and Morninglory in oyster sauce.  This place was no longer serving chicken because of fears around the Bird Flu.

Dinner, oh god no bird flu please

After we ate dinner we cruised over to The Hive for their Happy Hour.  A few things to know about the Hive’s Happy Hour–it is 4 hours long and really is 2 for 1 drinks.  We talked about Microsoft’s recent acquisition of TellMe, Google in NY (Tom works for Google) and Google Analytics (which will help Francie and I keep an eye on all you blog viewers–have I mentioned I love blog stats).

Hive

Here we are talking to a couple of people from Holland–they were actually on the street when Tom and Francie saw each and were like ‘oh, my god’!

Hive night life

We then went to one of the bakeries to pick up some chocolate deserts and Francie took me home and beat me in Scrabble again.  Argggggggggh!

desert

Well, at least the Aggies beat Louisville.  Today we are going to go out to the famous waterfalls which I know nothing about right now but will undoubtedly be posting about tomorrow. 

March 17, 2007 - Posted by | Laos, Misc, SE Asia, Travel

1 Comment »

  1. hey francie and greg… what luck running into you guys!!! it definitely made my trip to see a couple of friendly faces in a pretty random part of the world. maybe you’ll run into even more random people later on in your trip. if you happen to see angelina jolie, say hi for me. 🙂

    Comment by eviltom | March 19, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment